Fred Zinnemann

Fred Zinnemann

Date of Birth: 29.04.1907
Country: Austria

  1. Biography of Fred Zinnemann
  2. Early Career
  3. Hollywood Success
  4. Later Career and Achievements
  5. Selected Filmography
  6. Autobiography

Biography of Fred Zinnemann

Fred Zinnemann was an aristocratically refined director who was never popular with the masses but had 4 Oscars to his name and a large number of films that became classics during his lifetime. He was born in Vienna, Austria and is also spelled and pronounced by many as Cinnemann.

Early Career

Zinnemann became interested in cinematography at a young age and worked in Germany with Billy Wilder and Robert Siodmak on the film "People on Sunday" in 1929. After that, he moved to Hollywood where he contributed to the film "All Quiet on the Western Front" in 1930. Enamored by the filmmaking process, Zinnemann learned the profession from Robert Flaherty and then, together with producer and screenwriter Paul Strand, directed the film "The Wave" in 1935 in Mexico, featuring non-professional actors.

Hollywood Success

Upon his return to Hollywood, he signed a contract with MGM and directed numerous short films over the next few years, winning an Oscar for the film "That Mothers Might Live" in 1938. He transitioned to feature films in 1942, directing two solid B detective films: "Eyes in the Night" and "Kid Glove Killer". In 1944, he achieved great success with "The Seventh Cross", a magnificent class A film starring Spencer Tracy, which became his first major hit.

Later Career and Achievements

In 1951, Zinnemann directed the touching charity short film "Benjy", which was honored with an Oscar. In 1950, he introduced audiences to Marlon Brando, and in 1953, he won an Oscar for Best Director and Best Picture for the film "From Here to Eternity". The pinnacle of his career was the film "A Man for All Seasons" in 1966, which won Oscars for Best Picture and Best Director.

Selected Filmography

Some of Zinnemann's notable films include "The Seventh Cross" (1944), "Men" (1950), "Teresa" (1951), "High Noon" (1952), "From Here to Eternity" (1953), "Oklahoma!" (1955), "A Hatful of Rain" (1957), "The Nun's Story" (1959), "The Sundowners" (1960), "Behold a Pale Horse" (1964), "A Man for All Seasons" (1966), "The Day of the Jackal" (1973), and "Julia" (1977).


In 1992, Zinnemann published his autobiography "Fred Zinnemann: An Autobiography about Cinema".