Richard Dreyfuss

Richard Dreyfuss

Date of Birth: 29.10.1947
Country: USA

  1. Biography of Richard Dreyfuss
  2. Early Career and Collaborations
  3. Extensive Filmography
  4. Personal Life and Advocacy

Biography of Richard Dreyfuss

Richard Dreyfuss is an American actor who became the youngest recipient of the Academy Award for Best Actor at the age of 29. He was born on October 29, 1947, in New York City.

Early Career and Collaborations

Dreyfuss began his career in the film industry with notable roles in movies such as "American Graffiti" (1973) directed by George Lucas, and Steven Spielberg's films "Jaws" (1975) and "Close Encounters of the Third Kind" (1977). His breakthrough came with his portrayal of the lead character in the film "The Goodbye Girl" in 1978, for which he won an Oscar.

Extensive Filmography

Throughout his career, Dreyfuss appeared in a total of 89 films. Some of his notable works include "Stakeout" (1987), "Tin Men" (1987), "Always" (1989), "Rosencrantz & Guildenstern Are Dead" (1990), "What About Bob?" (1991), "Mad Dog Time" (1996), and "Night Falls on Manhattan" (1996). He received an Oscar nomination for his role in "Mr. Holland's Opus" (1994).

Personal Life and Advocacy

Dreyfuss is known for his democratic views and has been vocal about his political opinions. He had struggled with drug addiction but successfully overcame it. In the mid-1960s, he refused to fight in the Vietnam War and was sent to a forced labor camp in a hospital as a consequence. In February 2006, he publicly called for the resignation of President Bush.

Overall, Richard Dreyfuss has left a significant mark on the film industry with his versatile performances and has also used his platform to advocate for his beliefs.