David Gerrold

David Gerrold

American writer, science fiction writer
Date of Birth: 24.01.1944
Country: USA

  1. Biography of David Gerrold
  2. Early Life and Education
  3. Writing Career
  4. Awards and Recognitions
  5. Other Works

Biography of David Gerrold

David Gerrold is an American writer known for his work in the genres of science fiction and fantasy. He is widely recognized as a screenwriter for popular television series such as "Star Trek," "Animated," "Twilight Zone," "Land of the Lost," "Babylon 5," "Sliders," "Logan's Run," and "Tales From The Darkside."

David Gerrold

Early Life and Education

David Gerrold Friedman was born on January 24, 1944, in Chicago, Illinois. He studied journalism, cinematography, and theater arts at the University of Southern California and California State University, Northridge.

After completing his education, Gerrold worked as an assistant manager in the toy department of a department store, as well as in an adult bookstore. He also worked as a producer for television, wrote columns for science fiction magazines like "Starlog" and "Galileo," and contributed to a computer magazine called "Profiles."

Writing Career

In September 1966, Gerrold wrote the script for an episode of the television series "Star Trek" titled "Tomorrow Was Yesterday." This episode later became the basis for the popular episode "The Trouble With Tribbles." Gerrold lived in Los Angeles during this time.

From 1982 to 1999, Gerrold taught a course for screenwriters at Malibu University. Currently, he resides in Hollywood.

Gerrold's first published novel was "The Flying Sorcerers" (1971), co-written with Larry Niven. This was followed by the science fiction novel "When HARLIE Was One" (1972), which was nominated for the Hugo, Nebula, and Locus Awards. In this novel, Gerrold described the functioning of worm-like programs, a concept that had not been explored much in science fiction at the time. In 1988, the novel was revised and reissued as "When HARLIE Was One (Version 2.0)."

Gerrold has written several notable novels, including "The Man Who Folded Himself" (1973) and "Moonstar Odyssey" (1977). These novels challenged the conventions of early science fiction by exploring themes of sexuality. "The Man Who Folded Himself" was nominated for the Hugo, Nebula, Locus, and Jupiter Awards.

In 1970, Gerrold met the famous science fiction writer Robert Heinlein, which had a significant influence on his writing. He wrote a series of novels inspired by Heinlein's "Starship Troopers," including "A Matter for Men" (1983), "A Day for Damnation" (1984), "A Rage for Revenge" (1989), and "A Season for Slaughter" (1992). All these novels are part of the "War Against the Chtorr" series. Two planned novels in the series, "A Method For Madness" and "A Time For Treason," have yet to be completed.

Awards and Recognitions

Throughout his career, Gerrold has received numerous awards for his work. In 1979, he was awarded the Skylark Memorial Award by the New England Science Fiction Association for his contribution to the development of science fiction. In 1994, he won the Nebula Award for Best Novelette for his story "The Martian Child." The same year, he received the Hugo Award for Best Novelette and the HOMer Award for the same story.

Other Works

In addition to his novels, Gerrold has written several short stories, comic books, and screenplays. He has also contributed to the Sherlock Holmes universe with a story called "The Fan Who Molded Himself."

Furthermore, Gerrold has published two collections of poetry titled "The Satanic Limericks" in 2007.

Overall, David Gerrold has established himself as a prolific writer in the science fiction and fantasy genres, known for his imaginative storytelling and contributions to popular television series.