David L. Robbins

David L. Robbins

American writer
Date of Birth: 04.07.1950
Country: USA

  1. David L. Robbins: A Prolific American Writer
  2. Notable Book Series
  3. Biography

David L. Robbins: A Prolific American Writer

David L. Robbins is an American writer who is known for his works in various genres such as western, science fiction, horror, adventure, and detective fiction. He has written around three hundred books under his own name and various pseudonyms. Robbins is a member of the Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America, the Horror Writers Association, and the Western Writers of America.

Notable Book Series

Among Robbins' well-known book series is "The Hardy Boys," which follows the adventures of Frank and Joe Hardy. He also created the multi-generational saga "Wilderness," which revolves around a mountain man and his Shoshone wife. The "Wilderness" series, which spanned twenty years, is one of the longest book series written by a single author. Robbins has also written series such as "The Trailsman," "Mack Bolan," "Endworld," "Blade," "White Apache," "Davy Crockett," and "Omega Sub."


David L. Robbins was born on July 4, 1950, into a family with British roots and Pennsylvania Germans in their genealogy. He spent his early childhood in a remote area of Philadelphia. After his father was shot, Robbins spent most of his teenage years on a farm owned by his great-grandparents, who followed the teachings of Menno Simons.

At the age of seventeen, Robbins enlisted in the United States Air Force as a sergeant. After an honorable discharge, he attended college and began a career in radio broadcasting. Robbins worked as an announcer and technical specialist before becoming a program director for various radio stations. He later transitioned into law enforcement. Eventually, his writing career took up most of his time. Throughout his life, Robbins has lived in Pennsylvania, Texas, Oklahoma, Kansas, Montana, Colorado, and the Pacific Northwest of the United States. He also spent over a year in Turkey.

Robbins' writing abilities were recognized by the website "Pulp Rack," which focuses on popular fiction of the 20th century. He gained significant recognition for his two long-running book series. The "Wilderness" series, which started in 1990, began under the pseudonym David Thompson. By now, the multi-generational saga consists of nearly eighty books. Robbins eventually dropped the pseudonym and continued the "Wilderness" series under his own name.

Another notable book series by Robbins is "Endworld," a science fiction series set in a post-apocalyptic world. It began in 1986 and has reached forty-two books, with ongoing publications to this day. The series is set one hundred years after the Third World War, a nuclear war between the United States and the Soviet Union. It follows the ancestors of the Family, a group of survivors living in an isolated compound called the House, located in northwest Minnesota.

Throughout the series, the Family makes their first attempts to venture beyond the safety of the House. The United States has become a deadly place, severely affected by nuclear, biological, and chemical attacks. Little is known about what lies beyond the provincial boundaries. In the novels, the defenders of the Family, known as the Warriors, travel through cities and territories, encountering dictators, mutants, and other dangers. Blade, the leader of the Warriors, is one of the central characters in the entire "Endworld" series. Robbins' works have been translated into nine languages.

The writer suffers from hemiplegic migraine, a relatively rare hereditary condition. His father also experienced frequent migraines and would often retreat to a dark room for several days to recover. Robbins has extremely sensitive eyes and has worn custom-made "Aviator" sunglasses for many years to reduce the frequency of his attacks.

In addition to the pseudonym David Thompson, Robbins has used the names Jake McMasters, John Sharp, Don Pendleton, Franklin Dixon, Ralph Compton, Dean McElwain, Jay D. Cameron, and John Killdeer.