Isaac Hayes

Isaac Hayes

American rhythm and blues musician
Date of Birth: 20.08.1942
Country: USA

  1. Biography of Isaac Hayes
  2. Discography

Biography of Isaac Hayes

Isaac Hayes was an American rhythm and blues musician. He was born on August 10, 2008 in Covington, Tennessee. At the age of five, he began singing in a church choir. Later, Isaac taught himself to play the piano, organ, flute, and saxophone. At 18, he landed a job at the Memphis-based studio "Stax Records" where he worked for many years, remaining relatively unknown. However, during this time he wrote a great deal of music, often for other artists.

Isaac Hayes

In 1967-1969, "Stax Records" faced financial difficulties and was on the verge of bankruptcy. It was then that Isaac Hayes released his debut album, "Presenting Isaac Hayes," which saved the label from financial ruin. His second album, "Hot Buttered Soul," brought both the label and Hayes himself renewed confidence. The deep sound of the electric organ, "quacking" rhythms of the electric guitar, and his low and seductive vocals amazed the eager-to-hear-something-new audience and press.

Isaac Hayes

One of Isaac Hayes' biggest successes was his work on the soundtrack for Gordon Parks' film "Shaft" - a famous blaxploitation film. The soundtrack, like the entire film and genre in general, was primarily targeted at the African-American urban audience. Isaac Hayes played a bartender in "Shaft" and later received an Oscar nomination for Best Original Song for the film. In the mid-1970s, "Stax Records" again faced financial troubles. Isaac, who had been deprived of nearly $5 million by the company, declared bankruptcy and parted ways with "Stax Records."

In 1979, Hayes signed a contract with "Polydor Records" and released a single called "Don't Let Go," which immediately became a hit and gave his career a new boost. In the 1980s, Isaac Hayes turned his attention to the film industry and appeared in movies such as "Escape from New York," "Robin Hood: Men in Tights," and "Johnny Mnemonic." He also gained widespread recognition for the animated series "South Park," in which he voiced the character Chef.

In 2002, Isaac Hayes was inducted into the symbolic Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. In 2008, Isaac Hayes passed away. He left behind 12 children, 14 grandchildren, and three great-grandchildren. He was married four times. One of his sons, Isaac Hayes III, carries on his name as a music producer.


  • Presenting Isaac Hayes (1967)
  • Hot Buttered Soul (1969)
  • Enterprise (1970)
  • Be Continued (1970)
  • The Isaac Hayes Movement (1970)
  • Black Moses (1971)
  • Shaft (1971)
  • In the Beginning (1972)
  • Joy (1973)
  • Live at the Sahara Tahoe (1973)
  • Tough Guys (1974)
  • Truck Turner (1974)
  • Chocolate Chip (1975)
  • Disco Connection (1976)
  • Groove-A-Thon (1976)
  • Juicy Fruit (1976)
  • A Man and Woman (1977)
  • New Horizon (1977)
  • For the Sake of Love (1978)
  • Hotbed (1978)
  • Don't Let Go (1979)
  • And Once Again (1980)
  • Royal Rappin's (1980)
  • Lifetime Thing (1981)
  • U-Turn (1986)
  • Love Attack (1988)
  • Wonderful (1994)
  • Branded (1995)
  • Raw and Refined (1995)
  • Chef Aid: The South Park Album (1998)
  • South Park: Bigger, Longer & Uncut (1999)
  • Mr. Hankey's Christmas Classics (1999)
  • Instrumentals (2003)
  • At Wattstax (2003) - recorded live at Wattstax on August 20, 1972
  • Hot Buttered Soul (2003)
In early 2006, Hayes suffered his first stroke. On August 10, 2008, he was found unconscious near his home and was rushed to the hospital, where he was pronounced dead an hour later. The cause of death was also attributed to a stroke.