Джузеппе Альбани

Джузеппе Альбани

Итальянский куриальный кардинал.
Дата рождения: 13.09.1750
Страна: Италия

Биография Джузеппе Альбани

Джузеппе Андреа Альбани, итальянский куриальный кардинал, родился 13 сентября 1750 года в Риме. Он происходил из знатной аристократической семьи, известной как "черная знать". В его семье было много представителей католического духовенства, включая его внучатого дядю - папу римского Климента XI, и трех других родственников, которые были также известными кардиналами.

Немного известно о раннем образовании Джузеппе, однако известно, что он получил священническое образование в Сиене. В двадцать лет он вернулся в Рим, чтобы стать домашним прелатом папы римского Климента XIV. В Риме Альбани приобрел огромный опыт в каноническом праве, который он успешно использовал в последующих годах.

Со времени своего молодого возраста Альбани занимал важные должности в Римской Курии, и к моменту своего назначения кардиналом Пием VII, он уже был известной фигурой в Церкви. Во время французской оккупации Рима Альбани находил убежище в Вене и стал союзником Священной Римской империи. Благодаря этим связям, он имел свободу действий при организации Папских Конклавов, чтобы никакой кандидат, неодобренный императором, не был избран.

В 1817 году он стал префектом Конгрегации по делам Епископов и сыграл решающую роль на трех последующих конклавах. Несмотря на то, что его собственный кандидат на Конклаве 1830 года не смог получить достаточно голосов, Альбани все равно оказал влияние на исход голосования. Его связь с императором Францом II была решающей на Конклаве 1823 года, а его поддержка помогла Пию VIII стать папой римским на Конклаве 1829 года.

Роль Альбани на этих конклавах также была отмечена тем, что он короновал Пия VIII и Григория XVI после их избрания папами. С 30 ноября 1830 года кардинал Альбани стал Библиотекарем Святой Римской Церкви. Он скончался 3 декабря 1834 года в Пезаро.

© BIOGRAPHS

Giuseppe Albani

Giuseppe Albani

Italian curial cardinal.
Date of Birth: 13.09.1750
Country: Italy

Biography of Giuseppe Andrea Albani

Giuseppe Andrea Albani was an Italian curial cardinal who played a significant role in the election of several popes, including Leo XII, Pius VIII, and Gregory XVI. He was born on September 13, 1750, in Rome, into a prestigious aristocratic family known as the "black nobility," which had many prominent members in the highest ranks of the Catholic clergy. His great-uncle was Pope Clement XI, and three other relatives were also prominent cardinals.

Giuseppe Andrea was the son of Horatio Albani, Prince of Soriano al Cimino, and Maria Anna Matilda Chigi-Malaspina. Although little is known about his early education, it is known that he received his priestly training in Siena. At the age of twenty, Albani returned to Rome to become a domestic prelate of Pope Clement XIV. During his time in Rome, he gained extensive experience in canon law, which he would later use to great effect.

Albani held important positions in the Roman Curia from a very young age, and by the time he was made a cardinal by Pius VII, he was already a controversial figure in the Church. During the French occupation of Rome, he found refuge in Vienna, where he became a staunch ally of the Holy Roman Empire. This alliance gave him the freedom to influence subsequent papal conclaves, ensuring that no candidate who displeased him was elected.

He became the prefect of the Congregation for the Affairs of Bishops in 1817, and in all three subsequent conclaves, Albani played a crucial role in influencing the majority of cardinals to vote in favor of candidates he supported. Even though his own candidate, Vincenzo Macchi, only received a maximum of twelve votes in the 1830 conclave, Albani's connection with Emperor Franz II proved decisive in the 1823 conclave and was important in excluding Giacomo Giustiniani in 1830. His support, albeit absent during the early ballots, undoubtedly helped Pius VIII become the Roman Pontiff.

Albani's role in these conclaves also included crowning both Pius VIII and Gregory XVI after their election as popes. On November 30, 1830, Cardinal Albani was appointed Librarian of the Holy Roman Church. He passed away in Pesaro four years later on December 3, 1834.

© BIOGRAPHS