Nagib Mahfuz

Nagib Mahfuz

Egyptian fiction writer and playwright, Nobel Prize in Literature, 1988
Date of Birth: 10.12.1911
Country: Egypt

  1. Нагиб Махфуз: Egyptian Novelist and Playwright
  2. Depiction of Egyptian Society
  3. Impact of the Arab-Israeli War

Нагиб Махфуз: Egyptian Novelist and Playwright

Naguib Mahfouz was born on December 10, 1911, in Cairo, Egypt, into a family of civil servants. He graduated from the Faculty of Philosophy at Cairo University in 1934. His first works were published in the magazine "Al Nadjalla al Djadida," in which he realistically portrayed Egypt's traditional national wealth. Mahfouz's works are written with a patriotic inspiration, which is rooted in the distant past of Pharaonic rule: "The Whisper of Madness" (1938), "Games of Fate" (1939). Mahfouz is the author of more than 40 collections of stories and novels.

Depiction of Egyptian Society

After 1945, Mahfouz depicted Egyptian society in a series of novels: "The New Cairo" (1945), "Midaq Alley" (1947), "The Beginning and the End" (1949). This panorama of life culminates in the famous trilogy "Palace Walk," "Palace of Desire," "Sugar Street," written between 1947 and 1952 and published between 1956 and 1957. By depicting the lives of three generations of a Cairo family, the author portrays the social and political events in Egypt's history. In the 1960s, Mahfouz's writing underwent changes. He gravitated towards shorter forms, such as short stories, and placed more emphasis on symbolism. The constant sense of anxiety and suffering caused by the evolution of society, where individuals feel increasingly lonely and abandoned, resonates in works such as "Thief and the Dog" (1961), "The Beggar" (1965), "The Tavern of the Black Cat" (1968), "The Garden of the East" (1971).

Impact of the Arab-Israeli War

Egypt's defeat in the Arab-Israeli War of 1967 was a devastating blow to Mahfouz. It took him five years to release his novels "Mirrors" (1972), "Respected Sir" (1975), "The Harafish" (1977), "Nights of the Thousand and One Nights" (1982) and others, which confirmed that the writer had not only not exhausted himself but also became more diverse. In 1988, Naguib Mahfouz was awarded the Nobel Prize in Literature "for his realism and the richness of shades in the Arab narrative, which have significance for all of humanity."